Hotkeys: Standard vs Grid

#1 Posted by Scrumdidlyumptious (1641 posts) -
#2 Posted by Scrumdidlyumptious (1641 posts) -

Grid for me because I'm noob

#3 Posted by Dipstick (546 posts) -

I was using grid when I started playing because that's what I had been using previously in Company of Heroes. 

Although,I bought Starcraft 1 and started playing it recently and it doesn't even have a grid option so I've learned to use the standard hotkeys.

#4 Posted by s7evn (1072 posts) -

I'm getting used to standard, but Grid is nice. The only thing I don't like about standard is how I need to press "I" for an immortal, I mean really, it's so far away from all the other keys I use.

#5 Posted by StaticFalconar (4849 posts) -

Until I read this thread I never even knew grid was an option. I'm gonna go check it out. 

#6 Posted by Jeffsekai (7033 posts) -

Whats the difference? 

#7 Posted by TheMustacheHero (6655 posts) -

I'm confused. I just click the buttons in the lower right....

#8 Posted by Meteora (5787 posts) -

I uhh... 

Probably hotkey.

#9 Posted by Cataphract1014 (1313 posts) -

I don't even know what grid is.

#10 Posted by Ethan_Raiden (342 posts) -

Grid is for people that are crazy

#11 Posted by SuperfluousMoniker (2908 posts) -

Yeah, could someone explain grid for those of us too lazy to fire up the game and see for ourselves? :)

#12 Edited by MrChuckles (50 posts) -

Grid basically maps the hotkeys for commands in the lower right box to the left half of your keyboard based on its position in the lower right box on screen.

So if you clicked a unit and it had Attack, Move, Patrol, Hold Position in that order in the command box, Q would be Attack, W would be Move, ect.  

Thats not the right order or keys assigned to them but you get the picture. I don't use it so I'm not entirly sure, but I think its Q through T, down to B, back to Z. all commands in there, but they don't correspond to any names  (ex: D for drone).