Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Street Fighter IV

Game » consists of 9 releases. Released Jul 18, 2008

After nearly a decade in hiatus, Capcom's signature mainline fighting game series resurfaces with its fourth main installment, combining the traditional 2D gameplay with modern fully-3D graphics.

Gate Change Advice

ChrisTaran

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 9

#1  Edited By ChrisTaran

Just bought a SFIV TE Arcade Stick and I've come to realize that I do not like the way a square gate feels.  I'd like to replace it with a octagonal gate, but I've never done any modding before.

Would anyone be able to direct me to a good site or explain how to do this, where to shop, what tools I may need, and how to know if the part I buy will even work with the TE Stick?

Like I said, I'm new to modding of any kind, so I literally know nothing on how to do this.  Before I accidentally destroy my brand new $130 stick I figure I'd ask :)

FluxWaveZ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 6

#2  Edited By FluxWaveZ
    Store to buy it from = Lizardlick
    Will it work?: It will definitely function if you mod it properly.
    Tool = Screwdriver (recommend Flathead)

Video of SE stick being opened and modded
    (same way for TE)
    Shoryuken tech forums (An excellent resource for information on modding.)

Two threads that may help from the SRK tech forums: Octagonal restrictor plate mod in TE? and Confirmation on octagonal gate for TE stick

But perhaps before ditching your square gate you could try to get used to it?  Generally, I've heard that you'll feel more lost with the octagonal gate as you don't feel the corners as fully.  You just got your stick and it takes some time getting used to it.  I suggest playing with it and waiting a while to see if you change your mind.

Two SRK threads on the subject: Octagonal gate: Good or bad? and Square or Octagonal gate?
    ChrisTaran

Forum Posts

Wiki Points