Get out of jail free (aka dragon punch)

#1 Posted by thatpinguino (562 posts) -

Where do you stand on the invincible, 3 frame start-up, do-it-all reversal?  i'm talking about your dragon punches, your yun/yang kicks, your flame kicks.  All of these moves can effectively stop all rush down attempts barring a cross-up and if they are  fadc'd they are completely safe.  

I hope that in future street fighter games these moves are made more punishable in some way, be it by removing there fadc-ability or by reducing their invincibility.  As it stands now these moves are the ultimate get out of jail free card for players with bad defense online (yes i know online and offline are two different animals but I have no real offline experience).  Furthermore, by granting a large portion of the cast a go to reversal move plenty of players online simply do not learn proper blocking or  any of their other options.  I think it would be better for the game if the reversals got toned down so that all of the characters had to think when dealing with pressure rather than using the get out of jail free card.

#2 Posted by ThePhantomnaut (6067 posts) -

3rd Strike.

#3 Posted by thatpinguino (562 posts) -

I wasn't around for third strike.  Also didn't the parry system deal with  a lot of potential issues

#4 Posted by LeetBalla (696 posts) -

I don't think you understand Street Fighter. SSFIV is one the most finely tuned fighting games to date. And if wake-up dragon punches are giving you trouble, you need to seriously work on the basics and learn to cross up better. Who do you play?

#5 Edited by ricetopher (1046 posts) -

Don't make 5 frame reversal windows with shortcuts specifically for DPs AND allow the ability for blocked invincible reversals to be made safe.

That's not a stance I see being taken so well here but whatever.

Remove shortcuts and either tighten the window or make reversals non-FADCable and I have no problems

#6 Edited by ThePhantomnaut (6067 posts) -