Tera going free to play starting in Febreuary

#1 Edited by _k1_ (199 posts) -

Starting next month, the NA version of Tera is going free to play. There is a FAQ and a forum thread covering the transition.

Edit: The EU version is also going F2P, and has a FAQ as well.

The Korean and Japanese servers are already F2P

Edit: sorry for the double post and typos.

#2 Posted by Demoskinos (15106 posts) -

This is what I've been waiting for. We all knew it would happen. It would be doubly convenient if they launched it on steam as well.

#3 Posted by Svenzon (728 posts) -

Only a matter of time before the European version follows. I bought a copy a few weeks ago since a Swedish retailer sold them for what amounts to 5 dollars or so. Not a bad price for that game.

#4 Edited by _k1_ (199 posts) -

@Svenzon: EU is going F2P as well.

#5 Posted by psylah (2183 posts) -

Wait, I've been playing it for free for a few months...

#6 Posted by bibamatt (1089 posts) -

YES! Been hoping for this for a while. Jeff Cannata raving about this on every Weekend Confirmed has got me interested!

#7 Posted by DonChipotle (2810 posts) -

Welp, time to go back in. I wonder how my slayer is doing.

#8 Posted by Demoskinos (15106 posts) -

@psylah said:

Wait, I've been playing it for free for a few months...

The current model as I understand it has it free yes but only up to a specific level.

#9 Posted by Mesoian (1574 posts) -

Can't remember where I said it, but...."CALLLLLLLLLLLLED IT!"

#10 Posted by WilltheMagicAsian (1547 posts) -

The real issue here is if I have to pay to play the loli race or not.

Man, that QL's in-game chat was just fantastic.

#11 Posted by Rattle618 (1463 posts) -

Ok, maybe Ill give it a try, maybe.

#12 Posted by Karkarov (3230 posts) -

@_k1_ said:

Starting next month, the NA version of Tera is going free to play. There is a FAQ and a forum thread covering the transition.

Edit: The EU version is also going F2P, and has a FAQ as well.