Best one-handed sword early in the game.

#1 Posted by ManU_Fan10ne (662 posts) -

hey everybody, I'm new to Skyrim and the Elder Scrolls games, and i was wondering, what can i get the best one-handed sword one can get early in the game and where can i find it.

extra info: just finished alduin's wall, so I'm not that far in the game, i'm level 17, like to use dual swords, dual magic, and sometimes sword and flames/sparks/healing.

#2 Posted by matthias2437 (985 posts) -

Steel swords are the best early game swords, I think I used dual steel swords until level 20 on my warrior and had no problem killing everything (I upgraded them of course)

#3 Posted by TruthTellah (8850 posts) -

There's a really nice frost sword you can get by defeating a skeleton king in one of the early mountain ruins. Generally, I agree with matthias that steel swords are great early on. If you can get a steel sword with some kind of enchantment, that's great. I used a frost-enchanted steel sword that I got from that boss(plus an awesome helmet) for quite a while.

#4 Posted by ManU_Fan10ne (662 posts) -

thanks everybody. Right now i'm using a steel sword and a blades sword both enchanted with fire, and i'm doing okay.

#5 Posted by SeriouslyNow (8534 posts) -

Dawnbreaker is the best one handed sword in the game in my opinion.  You can get it very early on but you need to of high enough level to do the task which allows you to keep it.

#6 Posted by MrKlorox (11209 posts) -

Do you really need a sword or will a mace do? If so then do the Molag Bal daedric quest. Go to Markarth and listen to the rumors at the tavern. Then there will be a guy standing outside an Abandoned House in the town, which will trigger the mission.

#7 Posted by TheIronYuppie (120 posts) -

get to level 20, go to Meridia's shrine, do what she says, receive Dawnbreaker......profit.

#8 Posted by McGhee (6094 posts) -