New to the PC world...the conceptual funk of Skyrim at its best

#1 Posted by INV2 (263 posts) -

So, I am really new to PC gaming. But for Christmas I decided to buy myself a computer. Or, shall I say, build myself a computer.

Did it. Got a great, powerful machine now.

Installed Skyrim, which I S-Ranked on the XBOX, which means, I played a whole lot of Skyrim., obviously. Gotta say, this is simpy incredible. I mean, just the load screens is a huge deal. But, I really went down the rabbt hole with mods. The game just looks amazing, the difference is quite something.

Anyway, getting to the nitty gritty of this post. I am in a weird conceptual funk. Maybe it is simply an issue of self-control, I dunno. BUT...hey, we are all into games here right? So let's talk about it.

The CONSOLE...I think it has ruined this game for me. It started as just as a "I need 5 iron ingots and an ebony ingot," But, man, I don't want to go find a mine, that shit be annoying. I mean, I can do it, go mountain climbing like a dingbat goat, waste a bunch of time, find the stupid mine, then you know, mine it, watch that silly animation...then FINALLY, go back to my stash area, and make my whatever at the smithing forge. But, all of that is silly! This is no big deal, just take a hit off the CONSOLE, no biggie...get my measely ignots in 3 seconds instead of 30 minutes. Then, you know, you just spiral out of control from there. At least, I did.

In a way, I feel like te CONSOLE is just a bad idea. Why is this available to us? Do achievements mean anything in the PC world? Again, I am very new to the PC gaming scene, so maybe I am just way behind here.

Or, maybe I just have no self control.

#2 Posted by JoeyRavn (4986 posts) -