Your character's backstory

#1 Posted by EODTech (83 posts) -

I know there was a thread about this exact subject but I can't seem to find it now. Even searched for "story" and "character" and can't find it. Oh well. I finally got Skyrim thanks to a buddy of mine down in Kuwait who slipped it into a logistics shipment coming up here to Iraq and I have to say, I love it. I think it might be the best game ever made, period. As always, I play a roleplaying game the way it should be---I inhabit the role. My character has a backstory and I play the game according to it. I will briefly outline mine below, but here is my point of this thread: WHAT is your character's backstory? Who is he/she? What prejudices, experiences and attitudes shape his or her world and how has it affected your gameplay?

For my first character, I am an Imperial sleeper agent who joins the Stormcloak rebellion but remains loyal to the Empire. I am a female sneaky thief/assassin named Jen who is not above petty thievery. I have almost no combat skills except for one-handed, preferring to stealth right past most enemies. I am doing a lot of sidequests and faction quests right now in an effort to ingratiate myself to the locals, so as better to betray them when the time comes. I am a Nord female who was raped by Nord militia when I was young, so that motivated me to support the Empire. My handlers planted me in that execution next to Ulfric so that he would trust me, and I could move more easily in the rebellion's world.

My next character will be a little old man who was on his way to teach at the Mage's College. I am absentminded and continuously befuddled, always surprised that the world is the way it is despite my book learning. I am furious that I've been detained by these Imperial peasants and came very close to being executed--I missed the start of the semester!--so I will support the Stormcloaks. Total magic user, no combat skills or armor whatsoever.

#2 Edited by Storms (341 posts) -