Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

The Marriage

Game » consists of 1 releases. Released Jan 01, 2007

The Marriage is a PC game developed by Rod Humble as a purely video-interactive piece of art. It's general concept is to represent the flow of a masculine/feminine marriage, but beyond that is intended to be left open to personal interpretation by each user, as all artwork is.

What do people think.

Shasam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By Shasam

As a programmer, I want to know what people think of this. It's definitely got an artistic take on gaming on requires a certain amount of imagination to read in to the themes and messages, but I also want to know about what people thought of the mechanics. How long did it take you to figure out? Did it evoke any feelings or emotions?

Basically, simple is easy to make, and this is simple. If something like this can actually have an impact, it makes my job easier in the long run. =P

Rowr

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By Rowr

It was just to simple for me to evoke any feelings from it.

I see whats going on with the mechanics, its kind of clever i guess, but a long way from me getting an emotional response.

I do believe simple is better, but at this stage of the game (gaming today) ,  It has to be a bit more engaging mechanically and visually.

Though I understand this game depends on a basic visual style to achieve open interpretation.

Which throws up another issue. Must games be vague to allow gamers open interpretation? It seems to be at face value a critical part of much Art. (Abstract Paintings)

Being vague was certainly part of the reason Braid was considered an "arty" game.

Shasam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By Shasam