Should i play W1 before W2?

#1 Posted by Sucabub (4 posts) -

Hello all. 

I'm new to The Witcher universe and haven't played the first iteration. I enjoy RPG's, especially the story element. I want to know if it's recommended to play the first one before the second one? If i can get by without doing so, or maybe just read the wiki entry of the summary of the events in Witcher 1 to catch up, then i don't mind. But if i'll be clueless about what's happening in Witcher 2 then it'll probably ruin my experience with the game. 

Thanks!

#2 Posted by Management (596 posts) -

Yes

#3 Posted by TheSeductiveMoose (3617 posts) -

Yeah, play it.

#4 Posted by SlasherMan (1725 posts) -

You can get by without doing so, but I'd recommend playing it anyway. It'll make it easier to understand who some of the characters are, but honestly, even I was confused a bit in 2 since they were throwing all kinds of references that you probably couldn't get without reading the books.

If you can handle a bit of jank in a game, then absolutely, play the first.

#5 Posted by FritzDude (2251 posts) -

You don't have to, but i highly recommend the first Witcher. It's good. The only thing you might be confused about if you don't play the first game is the characters really.

#6 Posted by faunt (29 posts) -
@SlasherMan said:
You can get by without doing so, but I'd recommend playing it anyway. It'll make it easier to understand who some of the characters are, but honestly, even I was confused a bit in 2 since they were throwing all kinds of references that you probably couldn't get without reading the books.  If you can handle a bit of jank in a game, then absolutely, play the first.
Books are massive, even though I did read them some time ago I couldn't recognize most of the characters, places and things while playing W2. Still helps tho and books are fine, so I surely recommend them. 
#7 Posted by Rhaknar (5939 posts) -