Itagaki Making Game For Earthlings In Valhalla Game Studios

#1 Edited by Linkyshinks (9880 posts) -

Famitsu Magazine have been speaking to Tomonobu Itagaki, in their latest issue the ex Team Ninja boss confirms he's now working as "C.T.O" at "Valhalla Game Studios", a development house set up by former Tecmo employee, Satoru Kanematsu. Itagaki-san will oversee the companies game development division.  

Itagaki told the magazine he ultimately left Team Ninja in order to gain greater creative freedom elsewhere, and so that he could focus more on game design itself, rather than wasting time on the business side of things, which he feels can impact a games development negatively:

“I think success in games comes when you satisfy all three pieces of the game business,” he said, “the players, the developers, and the links between them – the retail and media people. I’ve been making games for nearly 20 years and I’ve done that maybe two or three times.“It’s definitely hard, but it’s not impossible – all three groups are there for the games, after all." 

"The thing is that I think the Japanese industry has made achieving that all but impossible these days. There’s an equation you can use to satisfy all three groups, but once money enters the picture, you start neglecting the things that’re most important and the equation winds up unsolvable. My friends and I went independent because we were wasting our time wrangling with issues like that.”

Itagaki also went into more detail about the set up at Valhalla: 

“Valhalla is about 50 people right now,”  “That may expand a bit, but it’s not going to be a 100-person company. Fifty people working for two years can produce something better than 100 people working for one year: 100 times one and 50 times two may produce the same number, but not in creative businesses like this one."