How to take out the armoured dudes FAST

#1 Posted by Vitor (2812 posts) -

So, I started playing co-op adventure as my first foray into the co-op aspects of UC3 and I HATED it at first. There seemed to be less enemy variety than the second, I didn't like the way the story elements were incorporated and I hated the bullet sponge enemies. Specifically the armoured dudes who would take 3/4 clips to take down if you were lucky.

Then I discovered that if you shot their helmets off, they'd go down in one or two melee hits...

Did I miss something in the tutorial?! Anyone else not realise this until several hours in? It's been making the co-op (whether hunter or adventure modes) infinitely more bearable. I'm finally having fun again whereas before it just felt like the game was trying my patience whenever 2 or more of those dudes showed up.

#2 Posted by Vivek (517 posts) -

Ah Combat Puzzles......

#3 Posted by N7 (3574 posts) -

Yeah. I realized that almost immediately. The tactic I like to use is sneak behind them, co-op their helmet off and then break their neck.

Also, one sniper shot to the head will kill them instantly. But since enemies move around a lot more than Uncharted 2, it's harder to pull off headshots on them.

#4 Posted by RecSpec (3770 posts) -

If you try to melee them with the helmet still on, then the game tells you to shoot off their helmets.

It seems a lot harder to do with the other dudes with the LMGs. To be honest, I don't think I've killed one through melee before.

#5 Posted by ultimatepunchrod (336 posts) -

That was the way it was in the 2nd game also, but thanks for letting people know. That would be annoying not to know that.

#6 Posted by jjnen (660 posts) -

Everything dies faster when you shoot it to the head. That's like the first thing they teach at biology class.

#7 Posted by Vivek (517 posts) -

@Rappelsiini: Really I was told to aim for the genitals...

#8 Posted by buzz_killington (3532 posts) -