Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Unreal Engine 4

Concept »

The fourth major iteration of the Unreal Engine from Epic Games. This engine is said to only be suitable for the 8th generation of video game consoles and PC hardware, though it is scalable to a variety of older platforms and mobile.

Unreal Engine 4 Developer Walkthrough

Schmollian

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By Schmollian

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=MOvfn1p92_8

This looks absolutely incredible. 1 million particles in a room? Craziness! The subtlety of the light bouncing off of materials is cool, and the illuminated particles has to be the most realistic looking thing I have ever seen in a real time environment.

The tool set itself looks absolutely incredible with the easy to use, sort of jump in jump out sort of thing. Now I am not a coder or programmer, but I have dabbled in complicated level editors and script editors. To see all of these changes being done on the fly makes me think that this will change the way developers will make games, and more importantly, the speed at which they make them.

Cool stuff!

PS: Dynamic lens flare 0_0

PSS: Here is the actual tech demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=OZmRt8gCsC0

Jack268

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By Jack268

I think the particle effects look really good, but the lens flare is not really something I care for. I have never noticed any lens flare in real life, so I don't know why my character in the game would. And the program it's all running inside is very similar to the CryEngine sandbox. Even the flowgraphs are there.

I don't think we as consumers will gain anything from shorter development times though except maybe more day one DLC.

Dixavd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#3  Edited By Dixavd