Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

World of Warcraft

Game » consists of 9 releases. Released Nov 23, 2004

World of Warcraft is an MMORPG that takes place in Blizzard Entertainment's Warcraft universe. At its peak, it boasted a player base of over 12.5 million subscribers, making it the most popular MMO of all time.

Dealing with Addiction

DrewInJapan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By DrewInJapan

Almost a year ago I started playing WoW. It seemed harmless enough at first, and was a decent way to fill time during the lean months while my gf was job hunting and all the bills were on me. We were on a pretty tight budget, and $15 a month for the amount of entertainment I was getting out of it seemed like a bargain.

And then it became a compulsion.

A lot of games can keep you playing with "just one more level, then I'll turn it off," which is great for a game that has a definite end. You will beat the game at some point, and then it's done.

But MMOs don't work like that, do they?

Sure, you can get one more level - all the way up until you've maxed out your character - but you haven't beaten anything. There are tons of things to do once you reach the max level. Daily quests, crafting professions, achievements, dungeons....it never ends! (Not a good idea for somebody with OCD tendencies to get into something like this.)

Only I did. And in a bad way.

I was playing most every free moment I could. 20 minutes before I have to get ready for work? No prob! I can do a quest in that time! GF's taking a nap? I can run a whole dungeon! I'd spend whole Saturdays (and sometimes Sundays, too) in front of my PC, questing away the weekend.

And it was fun!