Guess What....Yup, RROD.

#1 Posted by DoctorWelch (2774 posts) -

My first 360 red ringed the night I got it while my sister played Halo 3 during a thunderstorm, my second one red ringed a year later, and now, finally, my 3 year old 360 finally bit the dust. I just got COD last night to play with my friends, even though I swore to myself I wouldn't get the stupid game, and it just red ringed in the middle of a match not 5 minutes ago.

I had and old white 20g model that I had a bad feeling would give out soon, I was just hoping it would last for another year. Anyway, I'm making this thread because I really don't know what to do now. I'm a poor college student that can't really afford much, so my plans to buy a 3DS with any christmas money has probably gone right out the window. The thing is, I just don't know if I should wait.

The new generation is upon us, and I have a decent mid/high end PC as well as a PS3. The thing is, I just bought COD and love playing it with friends, I have the season pass for Borderlands, and I really want to play Halo 4 eventually. So, what do you guys think I should do. Should I just suck it up and wait? Should I kiss goodbye to the days of the 360, or should I just take the hit and get a new one even if it may be obsolete in about a year?

#2 Posted by believer258 (11922 posts) -

Watch out for Christmas sales; during Black Friday, some consoles were going on sale. If you can gather up the money for a 3DS, but you'd rather replace your Xbox, then I'd imagine you could get one at some point.

I'd say it's worth it unless you're buying the next Xbox on day 1.

#3 Posted by EquitasInvictus (2030 posts) -

Wrap a towel around it and leave it on with the RROD overnight, then try it again the next morning!