Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Xbox One

Platform »

The Xbox One is Microsoft's third video game console. It was released on November 22nd 2013 in 13 countries.

Installing a digital game via disc?

BleedingStarX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 1

I bought the Master Chief collection digitally, however my Xbox has now died on me and I am getting a new one under warranty tomorrow. Since moving house my internet is utterly disgusting and will likely take me a few days to redownload the game (60GB)

Can I go buy the disc version, install it that way, and then return the disc version and the system will play it fine?

kedi2

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By kedi2

I believe a game installed by disc can be converted into a digital copy of the game if you buy (or re download in your case) it from the marketplace afterwards. I have no experience in doing this myself so please don't take my word as gospel on this, but I remember hearing a bit about this when the Xbox One first came out.

notnert427

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#3  Edited By notnert427

Don't rebuy it. I'm 99.9% sure any digital games associated with your gamertag will be available for re-download once you sign in on the new xbox and make it your "home" xbox. I'm also 99.9% sure that games installed from a disc require that disc to play them. And who lets you return opened disc games these days anyway? I know the download times suck, but just start it before you go to bed tonight and if it takes a day or two, do something else until it's done.

BleedingStarX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I work in a game store where I can borrow the disc, but if itll associate it with the disc not the digital its not worth it

Avatar image for deactivated-5b031d0e868a5
    deactivated-5b031d0e868a5

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 15

User Lists: 4