How do you recover from losing all of your high ranking veterans?

#1 Posted by natetodamax (19212 posts) -

So I'm new to XCOM and strategy games in general, and I had to pick this up after hearing all the praise for it. It's a really awesome game as you know, but the thing that worries me is how completely ineffective rookies are later in the game. I'm worried about what'll happen if I should lose several or all of my high ranking veterans in a battle (I'm playing on Ironman mode). How do you recover from that? Is equipping them with Laser weapons and armor enough to get them through the later stages of the game long enough for them to move through the ranks and take charge?

#2 Posted by fox01313 (5078 posts) -

If you go slow & not rush it, they survive a lot better (tips on another thread in the new xcom forums). Early on the rookies are ineffective mostly from the crummy gear they have to start but once you get better gear it should make it better. Cycle through your troops on missions to make sure that you have a few high ranking people & some new ones so you don't have to worry about having just one high level squad in danger of being taken out.

#3 Posted by living4theday258 (679 posts) -

you don't.

#4 Posted by Fallen189 (5032 posts) -

You usually just end up restarting the game. Thats not a joke either.  Sometimes you just have to know when it's time to call it quits

#5 Posted by TobbRobb (4727 posts) -

Yeah you should basically make sure to level up at least 2 teams worth of people early on, so that you always have reserves in case of injury or death. And then just make damn fucking sure to not lose unnecessarily many soldiers towards the end. You can't bounce back a lot the time, plain and simple.

#6 Edited by HH (611 posts) -