Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Battlefield 3

Game » consists of 15 releases. Released Oct 25, 2011

Battlefield 3 is DICE's third numerical installment in the Battlefield franchise. It features a single player and co-operative campaign, as well as an extensive multiplayer component.

Does lower you resolution make the game ... better?

PandaBear

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By PandaBear

So I'm not technically minded when it comes to frame counting and input lag, but is there any truth in turning down you resolution to make Battlefield 3 run better and help you online?

I'm playing on Xbox 360 at 1080p ... but if I switch to 720p will my game run smoother, less input lag and in turn improve my performance? The Xbox 360 isn't the beast it was years ago, so it stands to reason you'd need to lower the resolution to make the game run better right? Is this what the higher level players do? I've heard of stuff like this, but I don't fully understand it.

huntad

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 13

#2  Edited By huntad

Apparently the 360 only upscales to 1080p. It's usually always best to run at native resolution, so if you're tv supports 1080p I don't see the problem. If it supports up to 720p, then you should probably run it at 720p although it wouldn't make much difference as far as what I've experienced.

Brendan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 7

#3  Edited By Brendan

With my limited technical knowledge, I can say that I'm pretty sure that upscaling does not affect performance, which is what the Xbox does. PC's that support higher resolutions will actually run in those resolutions, which takes more graphical power.

clstirens

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By clstirens

@Brendan said: