Boneworks: A Discussion

Seikenfreak

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 6

#1  Edited By Seikenfreak

I've wanted to put some of my thoughts down on this since I started playing it this weekend. Completed the story mode last night, plus Jeff mentioning it on the Bombcast today, I wanted to mind barf a bit on here.

Long story short, Boneworks is essentially a fan-made love child of Half-Life 2 and Portal in VR, and seems to have jumped to #4 on my GOTY list. It took me roughly 15 hours to clear the story. Some people do it faster apparently, but I actually spent time looking for secrets and kinda being cautious like I would in any adventure/FPS game. It is the first VR game that feels like a must-play that isn't a racing or flight sim i.e. cockpit, seated experiences. I did play this with room scale, standing, and didn't really have to move around much.

I'm not exactly sure where to start on this. Boneworks is to VR, what Half-Life 2 was to physics back then. As Jeff described, it's a series of levels (the first one or two are tutorials basically) that feel like a patch work sort've built to demonstrate features. So, if you liked Half-Life 2 way back when because it was an awesome tech showcase, then you should play this if you can. What also makes this very weird, is that Half-Life: Alyx was just announced.. and that was supposed to be the "Half-Life" for VR? Supposedly the team at Valve was given a demonstration of Boneworks like a year ago and it heavily influenced their design ideas for Alyx? And no one has really brought up that Alyx was supposed to be at the Game Awards but wasn't. Sounds like Valve might've pulled the gameplay demo because of Boneworks releasing just before hand and uses free movement? All the lines are being blurred with this. Maybe Alyx will come out and take this to a whole new level, or it might just be the same thing but with a bit more big budget polish. The latter is what I'm expecting.