Something went wrong. Try again later

    Brazilian Grand Prix

    Concept »

    The Brazilian Grand Prix is a race held in Brazil. Has been held at two locations since the Grand Prix's inception in 1972.

    Short summary describing this concept.

    No recent wiki edits to this page.

    An aerial view of Interlagos Race Track.
    An aerial view of Interlagos Race Track.

    The Track:

    The Interlagos Race Track is located in the Interlagos neighborhood of Sao Paulo, Brazil. It was premiered in May 12th, 1940, as Interlagos Race Track. Its popular name, Interlagos, is due to the fact of its location, between two aritificial rivers built to supply the city with hydro-electrical power. In 1970 it was renamed to José Carlos Pace Race Track, after the famous Brazilian racer's passing that year. 

    The track follows a counter-clockwise flow.
    The track follows a counter-clockwise flow.
    It's one of the few tracks that follow a counter-clockwise design outside of the United States. It is not only used for the Formula One Grand Prix Championship acting as the Brazilian Grand Prix, but for many other leagues of racing, ranging from many styles of racing, like motorbikes and truck, and even athletic style mini marathons. 

    The title of Brazilian Grand Prix can also be applied to Jacarepagua Race Track, called Nelson Piquet Race Track after the still living Brazilian driver. The track, located in Rio de Janeiro, was the location of the Brazilian Grand Prix before the reconstruction of the Interlagos for the Formula One Championship. Some races still occur there, but the official Formula One Grand Prix moved to Interlagos in the early 1970's.

    List of Formula One winners in the Brazilian Grand Prix:

     2009: Mark Webber - Red Bull
     2008: Felipe Massa - Ferrari  
     2007: Kimi Räikkönen - Ferrari     
    2006: Felipe Massa - Ferrari     
    2005: Juan Pablo Montoya - McLaren-Mercedes     
    2004: Juan Pablo Montoya - Williams-BMW     
    2003: Giancarlo Fisichella - Jordan-Ford 
    2002: Michael Schumacher - Ferrari-Ferrari
    2001: David Coulthard - McLaren-Mercedes 
    2000: Michael Schumacher - Ferrari-Ferrari 
    1999: Mika Hakkinen - McLaren-Mercedes     
    1998: Mika Hakkinen - McLaren-Mercedes     
    1997: Jacques Villeneuve - Williams-Renault     
    1996: Damon Hill - Williams-Renault 
    1995: Michael Schumacher - Benetton-Renault 
    1994: Michael Schumacher - Benetton-Ford
    1993: Ayrton Senna - McLaren-Ford     
    1992: Nigel Mansell - Williams-Renault 
    1991: Ayrton Senna - McLaren-Honda 
    1990: Alain Prost - Ferrari-Ferrari 
    1980: Rene Arnoux - Renault-Renault     
    1979: Jacques Laffite - Ligier-Ford     
    1977: Carlos Reutemann - Ferrari-Ferrari
    1976: Niki Lauda - Ferrari-Ferrari 
    1975: José Carlos Pace - Brabham-Ford     
    1974: Emerson Fittipaldi - McLaren-Ford 
    1973: Emerson Fittipaldi - Lotus-Ford
    1972: Carlos Reutemann - Brabham-Ford

    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.