Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Call of Duty

Franchise »

Originally starting as a World War II-themed first-person shooter, the Call of Duty franchise now incorporates other time periods and conflicts and can be found on virtually every modern platform.

I have never owned or played a Call of Duty game - why should I?

AsperGamer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By AsperGamer

That is until today. Today I am now an owner of a Call of Duty game. Start laughing now, it is Black Ops Wii Edition.

Shooting games are not really my thing. I actually don't like shooting games as I dislike the controller - camera, aim, shoot. I find it annoying, most likely as I am not good at it. By the time I am ready to shoot, I am either dead or the target is long gone. I am sure I could get better, but to be honest, I am not inspired to do so. First person makes me sick anyway - motion.

I have played Bioshock and enjoyed it because it is such a great game - the atmosphere is brilliant. I tried Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter and literally, I have never been so bored in my life - 2 hours I persisted and I will never get that back. I even tried Gears of War and whilst I didn't think it was horrible, it wasn't really fun. However, co-op in GoW is a whole lot better, but only with a real life person next to me.

Then there is Call of Duty. I have never seen the attraction. Just how many wars can you play? How many people can you kill over and over again? To me, the outsider, they all just look the same and there is a new one every year, just like sport games. I can't get interested in one, let alone a new one every year. However, I don't doubt for a second that they are good. I am not here to criticise, I am here to learn -

What is it about Call of Duty that makes it fun?