Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Destiny

Game » consists of 25 releases. Released Sep 09, 2014

Shoot your way across the solar system to level up and collect new loot in this multiplayer-focused first-person shooter from Bungie and Activision.

Destiny Early Impressions

impartialgecko

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 15

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By impartialgecko

Hi all. You may be asking: How did this chump get his hands on Destiny early? The answer is this chump is from Australia and Bungie decided to throw us a bone and release the game on our September 9th, which is about 11-12 hours ahead of North America. I started playing the game last night and have sunk about 6 hours into it.

Here are some early impressions:

The game plays beautifully. If you played the alpha/beta then you know what to expect. The first area of the game is exactly the same as the content we played two months ago, although you get access to the Moon fairly quickly. I was totally fine with seeing that stuff again because of how right the gunplay feels. The level design in the missions is also stellar and allows the kind of tactical movement and positioning that made me fall in love with Halo. It's not nearly as intuitive or as rewarding as Halo though, as the visual language of the combat has been garbled by the fact that enemies don't move and react as they do in Hale because all you're doing is lowering health bars. I still have trouble distinguishing particular enemy types by sight, which was never a problem in any of Bungie's previous games. The feedback on the guns and your hits is great but it's missing that sense that I always had with the Halo games of being able to read the battlefield like a book. Still, doesn't stop it being good fun.