Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Disgaea

Franchise »

A strategy RPG franchise by Nippon Ichi. Stories usually involve demons and the underworld.

Disgaea - Where to start

ftomato

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By ftomato

So I have a Vita, and I decided I want to try out playing a tactical RPG on it (I've had some past experiences with the genre but didn't really like it. I'm giving it another chance). I've always been interested in the Disgaea setting - most videos I've seen of it seem like the lack of seriousness is up my alley.

Being new to the genre, where should I start? Disgaea 1-3 are available for the Vita (1 and 2 as PSP titles). Is the story between them linear? Are the later games in the series better? Do 2 or 3 assume you're already familiar with the combat systems from the earlier games?

If they're not a good introduction to the genre, where should I start? Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions? Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together?

ftomato

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By ftomato

Is bumping unanswered questions okay?

dungbootle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By dungbootle

I'd go for the latest in the series that you can get.

Terramagi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Terramagi

@FTomato said:

So I have a Vita, and I decided I want to try out playing a tactical RPG on it (I've had some past experiences with the genre but didn't really like it. I'm giving it another chance). I've always been interested in the Disgaea setting - most videos I've seen of it seem like the lack of seriousness is up my alley.

Being new to the genre, where should I start? Disgaea 1-3 are available for the Vita (1 and 2 as PSP titles). Is the story between them linear? Are the later games in the series better? Do 2 or 3 assume you're already familiar with the combat systems from the earlier games?