Follow

    E3 2012

    Concept »

    The 2012 Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) took place at the Los Angeles Convention Center in Los Angeles, California on June 5-7.

    Short summary describing this concept.

    No recent wiki edits to this page.

    Giant Bomb @ E3 '12

    Pre-E3

    Day 00

    Day 01

    Day 02

    Day 03

    Interviews

    Press Conferences

    Konami

    No Caption Provided

    Thursday, May 31st - 10:30 PM PDT / 1:30 AM EDT (June 1st) / 6:30 AM BST (June 1st)

    • Tomoyuki Tsuboi (President of Konami Digital Entertainment America) introduced everyone (via hologram?) and highlighted the 25th anniversary of Metal Gear.
    • John Coligan (Director of Social Publishing) talked about the new Konami studio in San Francisco that focuses on mobile and browser games. They have partnered with Zynga to publish new titles in the next few months.
    • A video of Cristiano Ronaldo was shown promoting Pro Evolution Soccer 2013.
    • Masuda Kei (Lead Developer, PES Productions) talked about the enhanced player individuality and full control over the ball as the two main focuses for the team on the latest version of the game. Their social networking app "My PES" has also been revamped for the new season.
    • Hideo Kojima talked about inspiration for the Zone of the Enders franchise and the detail that's been added to the HD Collection.
    • Kojima went on to discuss Metal Gear's 25th Anniversary, Snake's evolution through the series, and the games being accepted as art at the Smithsonian.
    • A new trailer for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance was shown with a release date of "Early 2013."
    • Yuji Korekado (Creative Producer, Kojima Studio) spoke about how players will finally be able to control Raiden in situations like the cutscenes that fans loved in the past.
    • Atsushi Inaba (Producer, Platinum Games) talked about how they believe their studio is the best action game studio in the world and how they will do the franchise justice.
    • Kenji Saito (Game Director, Platinum Games) and Etsu Tamari (Lead Writer, Kojima Studio) spoke about how important the control over directional slashing is in the game and how that and the speed of the game affect many of the encounters.
    • A new Mega64 video was shown featuring Raiden going through the unemployment process after being away for four years.
    • The debut trailer for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 was shown.
    • Tomoyuki Tsuboi thanked everyone for watching and promised more to come during E3.

    Microsoft

    No Caption Provided

    Monday, June 4th - 9:30 AM PDT / 12:30 PM EDT / 5:30 PM BST

    Electronic Arts

    No Caption Provided

    Monday, June 4th - 1:00 PM PDT / 4:00 PM EDT / 9:00 PM BST

    Ubisoft

    No Caption Provided

    Monday, June 4th - 3:00 PM PDT / 6:00 PM EDT / 11:00 PM BST

    • The show opened with a montage of dance sequences performed live on stage leading up to a live performance from Flo Rida.
    • Aisha Tyler welcomed everyone to the show and spoke to Flo Rida about the popularity of Just Dance 4.
    • Dan Hay (Producer) took the stage to debut a new trailer for Far Cry 3 followed by a live gameplay demonstration.
    • Max Beland (Director) introduced a trailer called "Welcome to Fourth Echelon" for Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist.
    • Aisha Tyler returned to the stage to introduce a trailer for Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth.
    • Michael Micholic (Senior Game Manager) came out to give a live demonstration of Rayman Legends on the Wii U.
    • A trailer was shown ZombiU, which is a first-person shooter survival horror game for the Wii U.
    • A montage of Wii U titles was shown including Rabbids Land, Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2013, Sports Connection, and Just Dance 4.
    • Aisha Tyler then introduced a brand new trailer for Assassin's Creed III.
    • Francois Pelland (Producer) took the stage to discuss the historical significance within the game and then gave a live demonstration of AC3's wilderness gameplay. He then presented a new trailer focusing on action within the cities of the game.
    • ESLTV's Joe Miller and Miss Harvey came on stage to moderate a live demo of ShootMania.
    • Aisha Tyler returned to speak of the importance of free-to-play and online games. She then introduced a trailer featuring Trials Evolution, The Settlers Online, and Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Online.
    • Yves Guillemot (CEO) came out to introduce a brand new game from Ubisoft Montreal called Watch Dogs.
    • Jonathan Morin (Creative Director) took the stage to speak about the inspiration and background for Watch Dogs. He then picked up a controller for the first-ever live demonstration of the game.
    • Aisha Tyler thanked everyone for coming to the show.

    Sony

    No Caption Provided

    Monday, June 4th - 6:00 PM PDT / 9:00 PM EDT / 2:00 AM BST (June 5th)

    Nintendo

    No Caption Provided

    Tuesday, June 5th - 9:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 5:00 PM BST

    Game Critics Awards

    No Caption Provided

    The Game Critics Awards are decided by an independent group of North American media outlets. They have selected the most promising games of each Electronic Entertainment Expo since 1998, and have thus become recognized as the most respected "Best of" awards that come out of the annual show. Games qualify for nomination by having hands-on playable versions of the game at the show.

    Nominees for the 2012 Game Critics Awards were announced on June 19.

    Halo 4, Dishonored, and The Last of Us led the nominations with four each and Sony was the most nominated publisher with twelve.

    BEST OF SHOW

    No Caption Provided

    The Last of Us - Naughty Dog / SCEA

    BEST ORIGINAL GAME

    The Last of Us - Naughty Dog / SCEA

    BEST CONSOLE GAME

    The Last of Us - Naughty Dog / SCEA

    BEST HANDHELD/MOBILE GAME

    No Caption Provided

    Sound Shapes - Queasy Games / SCEA

    BEST PC GAME

    XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Firaxis / 2K Games

    BEST HARDWARE/PERIPHERAL

    No Caption Provided

    Wii U - Nintendo

    BEST ACTION GAME

    Halo 4 - 343 Industries / Microsoft Studios

    BEST ACTION/ADVENTURE GAME

    The Last of Us - Naughty Dog / SCEA

    BEST ROLE PLAYING GAME

    South Park: The Stick of Truth - Obsidian Entertainment / THQ

    BEST FIGHTING GAME

    No Caption Provided

    Injustice: Gods Among Us - NetherRealm Studios / WB Interactive

    BEST RACING GAME

    Need for Speed: Most Wanted - Criterion / Electronic Arts

    BEST SPORTS GAME

    FIFA 13 - EA Canada / Electronic Arts

    BEST STRATEGY GAME

    No Caption Provided

    XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Firaxis / 2K Games

    BEST SOCIAL/CASUAL GAME

    Dance Central 3 - Harmonix / Microsoft Studios

    BEST MOTION SIMULATION GAME

    Dance Central 3 - Harmonix / Microsoft Studios

    BEST ONLINE MULTIPLAYER GAME

    Halo 4 - 343 Industries / Microsoft Studios

    BEST DOWNLOADABLE GAME

    The Unfinished Swan - Giant Sparrow / SCEA

    SPECIAL COMMENDATION FOR GRAPHICS

    SPECIAL COMMENDATION FOR INNOVATION

    SPECIAL COMMENDATION FOR SOUND

    Exhibitors

    sizepositionchange
    sizepositionchange
    positionchange
    positionchange
    positionchange
    bordersheaderpositiontable
    positionchange

    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.