Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Final Fantasy XV

Game » consists of 26 releases. Released Nov 29, 2016

The fifteenth entry in Square Enix's flagship RPG franchise, set in a world that mixes elements of modern technology with magic, a fantasy based on reality.

Combat and leveling tips for a Final Fantasy/JRPG noob

stryker1121

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

The title pretty much says it all. I have no experience with JRPGs or the FF franchise and was hoping for some quick n dirty tips on FFXV's basic mechanics to set me along the path. For example:

-How should I level Noctis initially? Can I level the rest of my party like I would in a Bioware RPG?

-How should I approach combat out of the gate so as not to get my ass kicked?

- Do I need to grind for materials to level up certain weapons?

Any advice you folks may have would of course be appreciated. Thanks!

TheGodPoet

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

-So, essentially there aren't any individual stats you'll be putting any points into like with other RPG's. With FFXV, as characters level up, I'm pretty sure only the amount of health goes up and Noctis gains more MP as well. You'll gain AP as you level and do quests. AP, short for ability points, are used in the Ascension menu and that's where you'll be improving your team. So to actually answer your question, I'd recommend initially unlocking the increased warp strike damage and air step abilities for Noctis. Afterwards, definitely dedicate some points for the teamwork and technique sections in the Ascension menu. It'll make the combat much easier and your teammates will actually be useful. Also, putting some points into exploration wouldn't be a bad idea either. Those abilities help you gain more AP from just doing things you'd already be doing like driving and camping.