Which Final Fantasy game is best for a newbie?

• 78 results
ReyKenobi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By ReyKenobi

I'm pretty new to Final Fantasy; I've only ever played XIV: A Realm Reborn and was super into it for a few days but then lost interest.

I really, really want to get more into Final Fantasy, though, since I have such a huge respect for the series and I really want to get to know the characters and stories better.

What game is best to start with? Not just according to what's typically thought of as best, but also taking into consideration play time (preferably not super long), system, and story.

I don't own many older systems, so it's a little limited what I can play. Anything on PSP, PS2, PS Vita, or Nintendo systems like DS, 3DS, Wii, Wiiu (not sure if there are Final Fantasy games on these systems, but hey! I may be surprised!)

TobbRobb

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

My gut reaction is definitely 10. It's neither the hardest or the longest, the HD version is very easily available and it has less convoluted or confusing mechanics (lol sphere grid) than many of the older ones do. Same goes for 13, but I personally consider 10 the better game.

But honestly, with some patience you could get into any one you want to. The setting and story changes significantly between games, and a large part of the appeal of the series is the worlds and the characters. So I'd recommend just looking at the games and see if one appeals to just purely with aestethics. Just to throw out some examples: 13 is basically some alternate universe sci-fi, and 4 is kind of cookie cutter fantasy. 7 has this weird dystopian thing going on and 12 is a more traditional war story.