iPhone App Project

thebeast

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 7

#1  Edited By thebeast

Is there anyone interested in working collaboratively on an iPhone Giant Bomb/Whiskey Media Network native app or webapp?

I don't have any experience with Obj-C/Cocoa myself, but I'm sure I could pick it up if no one else has any knowledge in it.
citizenkane

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 106

#2  Edited By citizenkane

I wish I could, but like you, I have no experience with programming for the iPhone.

Funnyman22

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 4

#3  Edited By Funnyman22

I'm actually planning to start work on a GB iPhone app today... I already did an app to use with MK vs. DC a while back so I could get a grasp on the language and API's, so hopefully it won't take too long to develop.

What are people looking for in a GB app? In my head, the app is just a query handler so you can search GiantBomb.com for anything the API allows you to, then get the corresponding information page for what you're looking for. The only problem is that, as of yesterday, filters other than "offset" and "limit" weren't implemented, so the app would have to pull the entire DB (i.e. all 9025 characters, but you can only grab 100 at a time, so that's 90 separate XML queries in all) and THEN search/parse through a local XML file... all of which sounded pretty intensive for what should be a pretty simple app.

Other feature ideas?
thebeast

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By thebeast

I imagined it to be a slightly more streamlined way of looking at articles on GB in the same vain as Wikpedia viewers like Wikipanion.

It would probably have:
  • A section with all new articles/reviews from the RSS feed (Probably have to show just the titles and link to the actual site for the content).