Trying to get cover images for a list of games

hellxpress

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

I'm new to this, but I've been researching and trying to get things sorted out, but I must be missing something because I'm not getting what I'm expecting.

Objective: Given the name and platform, i'd like to find the cover art for the game

Q1) It doesn't seem like i can do that directly, so I guess I should try for the unique ID of the game first. Is that the best approach?

Q2) When I query for an ID, I can't seem to filter by platform successfully.

http://www.giantbomb.com/api/search/?api_key=APIKEY&format=xml&query=frogger&resources=game&field_list=name,id,platforms&filter=platforms:40

Once I get the ID, I think the hard part is over. I can query for the Image via

http://www.giantbomb.com/api/game/2980/?api_key=APIKEY&field_list=name,image&format=xml

but I really only need the small_url or even the thumb_url.

Q3) Is there a way to only get only that via the filter? I tried image:thumb_url but that didn't work

Q4) I guess fundamentally, I'm not understanding something about the API documentation. I assume if i'm searching, I specify a resource to search within (EX: resources=game) and then I can filter on the fields listed in the documentation. But that doesn't seem to work. What am I missing?

Thanks for your help.

soup_menu

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By soup_menu

Q1 & Q2) If I've understood you correctly it should be possible to do this in one step:

https://www.giantbomb.com/api/games/?api_key=APIKEY&field_list=name,id,platforms,image&filter=platforms:40,name:frogger

That will retrieve all games with "frogger" in the name that were released on the 2600, which is apparently "Frogger" and "Frogger II: Threeedeep!"

Q3) To the best of my knowledge the "image" field is an all-or-nothing affair. There are also two things to note about images: