Indie Games

michaelenger

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By michaelenger

I'm not sure where to post this, but seeing as this forum seems to be focused on talks about Giant Bomb as a whole, rather than just being about butt, I'm adding it here:

What is the official stance, and what does the community feel about the inclusion of indie games to Giant Bomb's repertoire? I'm not talking about games like Braid, that are "real" games with teams that eventually release their product on a commercial platform, but games like Jetpack Cat that are clearly made just for the hell of it (I doubt any publisher would distribute a game that isn't only full of, but relies heavily on 4chan memes). As a hobby game developer, I would love to add the projects I have been a part of here, but is it really wanted? Are games that aren't officially released in some commercial medium not "real" in the same way? And where does the level stop if we (or should I say you) decide to allow them entry? Do flash games count? What degree of quality/completeness/not-completely-retarded-ness does the game have to have?

Endogene

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2  Edited By Endogene

it depends on player base i guess

MattyFTM

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 11

#3  Edited By MattyFTM  Moderator

I asked about free/indie games a couple of weeks ago, and jeff answered on the podcast saying that indie/free games are good to go on the wiki as long as they don't infringe on other peoples copyrights e.g. freeware mario rip-offs.

Endogene

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Endogene

i remember that podcast but still, to much of it would kill the search engine

MattyFTM

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By MattyFTM  Moderator