Disney Cancels Infinity, Ends Game Publishing Division

austin_walker

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By austin_walker
Infinity 3.0 brought the series to the Star Wars universe.
Infinity 3.0 brought the series to the Star Wars universe.

The toys-to-life market has one less major player today, and unfortunately that also means that hundreds of employees have also lost their jobs.

In a blog post made this afternoon, Avalanche Software'sJohn Blackburn announced that Disney would be discontinuing Disney Infinity in June. Additional information emerging from an earnings report and investor call indicates that Disney will be closing developer Avalanche Software. According to the Wall Street Journal's Ben Fritz, this will result in the release of nearly 300 employees.

The earnings report is (understandably) filled with lots of business jargon that makes it hard to follow. I'm not an expert, but I'll try to break it down as best as I can:

• Disney is taking a "$147 million charge in connection with the discontinuation of our self-published console games business, principally Infinity." My understanding is that this means that because of this one-time event (the shuttering of Avalanche), Disney is taking a loss during this financial period of $147M. They say this to signal to investors that this is a one time issue, not a cost that will likely repeat indefinitely. In the opening of the report,
  • "The Infinity Charge was primarily due to an inventory write-down." An "inventory write down" is what happens when a company realizes that assets it has aren't going to sell for the price they were predicting they'd sell for. In this case, Disney is basically telling its investors that there was a $147M difference between the estimated value of the Infinity line of products and the actual market value that they now think the line has.