#1 Posted by Nagareboshi (3 posts) -

Just some thoughts on the whole 64 vs Sunshine debate since I started playing sunshine on my wii after yesterday's stream and I have to say... I think the people who say Sunshine is better than Mario 64 might be on to something! Sure, 64 is without a doubt a landmark game, perhaps THE most significant 3D game of all time but having played 64 recently as well, I would choose to play Sunshine over it any day. Putting them side to side today, I think Mario Sunshine is straight up the better game if we judge them by the same standards. I think people might be looking at Mario 64 with too much nostalgia. The 3D movement on an analog stick at the time was amazing but it isn't perfect and certainly not superior to Sunshine (At least not to me) and the platforming and level design is pretty rudimentary compared to most of Sunshine. People also complain about the hard parts of sunshine but personally I do like the steeper difficulty curve and the pure platforming sections are especially awesome. F.L.U.D.D is great too!

One thing I will say is this: The inverted camera Y AND X axis sure is a classic boneheaded nintendo move! Come to think of it, this game might be the reason i've inverted all my controls ever since. Hmm..

#2 Posted by pyrodactyl (4221 posts) -

I think most people bag on sunshine because its core mechanic is kind of lame and hurts the level design/gameplay experience. Spraying water on stuff is just not as fun and versatile as pure platforming mechanics paired with great level design. The core gameplay mechanics of 64 are strong enough to be featured in every major 3D Mario game since. Floyd was a limited gimmick. That's the difference between the two games.

#3 Posted by BigSocrates (1905 posts) -