A developer's thoughts on crunch - In games & beyond

bassman2112

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 23

User Lists: 12

Hey duders.

Cyberpunk 2077's recent delay has caused quite a stir on social media regarding crunch & the human cost of game development. As a professional software dev, I decided to write an article detailing my thoughts on the subject from that perspective.

I value the thoughts & opinions of the GB community a ton, and wanted to share the article here to hopefully get both some feedback and discussion on the go.

Here is a link to the article.

Thanks, and looking forward to hearing your thoughts =]

petesix0

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By petesix0

Excerpt(para. 51 & 52):

"The games industry chews these people up and spits them out. These workers set their intense pace, and the moment they falter from it, they will trip and they will fall. This leads to burnout. This leads to exhaustion. This leads to reconsidering their goals. This leads to them realizing their wage doesn’t reflect their work. This leads to looking at what it would be like to be a developer in a less volatile industry. And so after a year or two, they leave the game industry altogether with an acrid taste lingering in their mouth, and a few more bags under their eyes.

But you know what? There’s always another passionate kid out of college who is eager to gobble up the position they left behind."