Building a New PC in 2020

JasonR86

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 17

User Lists: 5

I’ve been talking about building a PC forever. Before the PS4 came out. I even created a wish list on Newegg with all the stuff I was going to buy for that PC. Multiple lists, because invariably whatever list I’d made would have been out of date by the time I had the inclination to buy the parts. So, finally, in 2020 I decided to buy those parts and build that PC. My first PC build ever.

A good question to ask, then, is why would you spend money on a PC build during a global pandemic? I have a few good reasons. One, my job is doing quite well because it is apparently pandemic resistant. I’m a mental health therapist and moved to working remotely going back to the start of March 2019. My client attendance is high because teleconferencing is convenient and insurance companies have adapted their payment methods to support remote therapy. Plus, I’m not going anywhere so I’m barely spending money any other way aside from this build. Also, I’m an idiot.

So, I bought nearly all the parts from Newegg, aside from a CPU cooler and GPU (we’ll get to the GPU in a second). Here’s what I got:

Ryzen 9 3900XT

RTX 3070

Patriot Viper Gaming VP4100 M.2 1 TB NVME Drive

Western Digital Black SN750 M.2 1 TB NVME Drive

G.Skill TridenZ RGB Series 32 GB DDR4 3200 Memory

EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3 Fully Modular 850W Power Supply

MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk Motherboard

Fractal Design Define R5 ATX Midtower Case

Noctua NH-U12S 120mm CPU Cooler

The new Xbox Series controller and a USB Bluetooth receiver