Can China Care? - GB in China

Aelric

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Aelric

Hey. So, I'm very likely to be spending the coming year in Shanghai. Now I'm sure we all have heard of the Great Firewall of China, which I have experienced before on vacation, but that was for only ten days. Living there a year, I suspect I'll be rather displeased with my internet speeds and access. Now, I know I'll be able to bypass the firewall through proxies or VPN, but I've no idea about what sort of speed would be available.

So, any duders in China? Does anything GB get through the wall without the bypasses and if so, is it at all tolerable speeds? Thanks.

Cramsy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By Cramsy

I studied and then worked in Beijing. It's all good, obviously don't use the youtube source though ;)

Speeds through VPN greatly depends on your ISP and your VPN. Usually I didn't have huge speed drops but yeah, don't expect anything like you're getting in the states (presumably)

rice_crust

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I'm posting this from Shanghai right now. For giantbomb at least, the speeds are fine for loading up the pages, watching videos etc. as well as the looking at the live streams.

The problem comes from accessing sites like Youtube, or Bloomberg or the New York Times, which are blocked .

Sites like Google, Imgur experience slowdowns and sporadic outages. But those usually go away within 30 min.

Cramsy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I'm posting this from Shanghai right now. For giantbomb at least, the speeds are fine for loading up the pages, watching videos etc. as well as the looking at the live streams.

The problem comes from accessing sites like Youtube, or Bloomberg or the New York Times, which are blocked .

Sites like Google, Imgur experience slowdowns and sporadic outages. But those usually go away within 30 min.