Finger placement while gaming

SamChan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I don't really know if I'm the only one that uses a keyboard like this, but whenever I play some game, doesn't matter, my pinky is on the a button, my ring finger on w, my middle finger is on s and the index finger is on d, thumb is used for the z, x, c, v, space, etc, but since I started playing games, my fingers were placed like this on the keyboard, and if I try to use my right hand on the keyboard it feels unnatural, probably because I use the mouse with my right hand.
Really curious on what people think about this, even though I don't think anybody's gonna respond to this lmao

Y2Ken

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 28

That seems like a pretty wild arrangement to me - don't you get hand cramp from that? I personally use the traditional ring on a, middle on w/s, index on d, little finger for shift/ctrl if I'm doing FPS-style stuff. Obviously it's different for the likes of Dota or StarCraft, where it more closely resembles a normal typing setup.

I've also encountered people who shift it across and use pinky on a, ring for w/s, middle for d - but I think you're the first person I've heard say they use all four fingers for the WASD setup.

haneybd87

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By haneybd87

I use ring, middle, pointer for WASD moving middle between W and S and I’m pretty sure that’s the norm. No need to have fingers on both since you can’t move back and forward at the same time and I can’t think of any situation where you would need to quickly move forward and back like you would for side to side strafing.

FacelessVixen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

Yeah, weird finger placements to make Z, X and C reachable is one of those things about PC gaming where I say "Fuck this" and bought a Logitech G300s so those out-of-the-way keys are bound to the mouse instead.