Gaming and Depression

croznad

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

While I’m sure threads like this have existed in previous years, I’m fairly new to Giant Bomb and these topics are always good to discuss (I think)

Recently I was diagnosed with depression. I’ve recently finalized my divorce and moved a thousand miles from home, leaving my family behind. I’ve always relied on games to get me through life’s drama, but lately I don’t have the desire to pick up a controller.

My question to my GB friends is what do you play when you are feeling depressed? Do you still play games or do you try to do other things? Would love to gain advice from a great community

FinalDasa

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 16

#2 FinalDasa  Moderator

It depends. Sometimes focusing on a game is what I need to take my mind off things. Other times I don't have the energy to keep up with a game.

But really whatever makes you feel better.

Not too long ago I moved and for the first time I was alone, in a town with very few friends, and trying to get my life together. I found that sinking into FF9 for the first time gave myself an excuse to switch off and just be absorbed into a new game. It also forced me to set up my PC, unpack my spare 360 USB controller, and eventually set up my desk. Little tasks that made my new apartment more mine.

But really, anything that makes you feel more at ease and more like you is all it takes. For myself that can be a Youtube series, old Giant Bomb streams or videos, or an old nostalgic game.

Feel better soon, you'll be just fine, change is always jarring.

Avatar image for bladeofcreation
BladeOfCreation

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 3

Hey, welcome to the community!