jrodrz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 5

Edited By jrodrz

Hey everyone,

I'm not always up for writing a blog entry. In fact, I've never had a blog other than the one in this site, and reading back on those entries, I can't consider them as meaningful contributions in any sense. So I guess this entry will be my first tru entry.

Recently, I've been thinking about the role gaming has had in my life. I remember playing my first games when I was about five years old. I started playing with my cousin on his SNES, and then I got a Sega Genesis for Christmas that year, which was my official introduction to the gaming world. As far as I can remember, I've always been a completionist: I've always been obsessed to complete every game I have to 100%, or at least as close as I can get to that. So I would not quit a game and move on to the next one unless I played every little thing that game had to offer. It's always been that way.

I've played on the consoles which, at the moment, I thought were right for me. After the Sega Genesis, I got a Nintendo 64 when I was seven. I sticked with Nintendo through the N64 and the Gamecube, until I turned 15 years old. Throughout that time, I remember not being able to afford my hobby, so I would rely on my parents to buy me games, and if I got lucky, I would get a new game every 3-4 months, whichs means 3-4 games a year. That means I had the time to play every game I had to the 100% completion rate, and get every cent's worth of that game. I remember one time when I convinced my dad to buy me one extra game, Medal of Honor European Assault, alleging that, since it had actual footage of WWII, the game had some educational value (XD). But I would value every game I had, since they came only one every few months at a time.