Gaming Subscription Services: The Stealth Revolution?

Gundato

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Gundato

So we all have our opinions on Stadia and xcloud (?) but I think everyone agrees that it is going to have a significant impact on the game industry.

But I am catching up on the MS e3 conference (that is a weird sentence) and I keep seeing cool games where I can buy it OR give MS 15 bucks a month or whatever. Similarly, I was really in the mood for a multiplayer FPS earlier today and was seriously debating buying BF5 or just subscribing to EA's service for a month.

And that got me thinking. I have a Humble Monthly subscription that I'll probably let lapse. I have Twitch Prime from Amazon Prime but I'll likely never use it for anything other than F2P DLC. PS+ and XBOX Live are pretty much accepted costs (40-ish bucks a year to not play anything other than Dark Souls online. Yay?). And when I eventually get around to reformatting my PC to fix the MS Store I can totally see myself subscribing to Game Pass for the latest Obsidian games

Did we acknowledge the actual "netflix for games" while we were all freaking out about not owning our games because of streaming. Right now I think I still want to buy my games, but I also remember when I wanted to buy my own DVDs. In even a few months (or days, if I keep this FPS itch) I can see myself just subscribing to a service instead. Why pay 60 bucks for Outer Worlds now or 30 bucks a month later when I can just pay 15 bucks a month for that and a bunch of other stuff I might otherwise never give a shot? I doubt I'll play BF5 for more than two months (maybe two weeks) and a lot of new releases are very much "fun as an experience" that I'll never repeat.

Were we all tricked in to accepting this dark future? And is it actually a dark future? It probably is, but I kind of want to embrace it so I am going to pretend it isn't.

ripelivejam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers