Guy and Unicycle perfectly illustrates why hard games are fun.

BananasFoster

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I grew up in the 80s. When I started playing games, the fundamental attraction to video games was difficulty. The NES with two controllers and a game was called the "Challenge Set". Every game commercial prominently stated just how difficult a game was to complete. If it was a sequel? It was HARDER than the first. When kids completed games, it was referred to as "Beating" or "Mastering" them. When new consoles came out, they made sure to stress just how much more difficult game could be on the new console than the one you already owned.

If video games were drugs, they were uppers. They were meant to emphasize the idea of getting your blood pumping, getting your brain working, and getting your adrenaline rising.

This is the way I grew up playing games and it's still the way I play games, even though it's getting much harder in the modern era.

What I've noticed, though, is that there is a generation of people who grew up playing games for entirely separate reasons. if video games are drugs, they are hooked on downers. They play games to "relax". Words used to sell games have "escape" and "immersion". This is all fine, but I feel like I frequently hear discussion of gaming history in which difficulty in games is treated like the era of black and white television. The idea seems to be that games used to diffiuclt because the industry simply lacked the technology to make fun games that weren't.