Help Building a Gaming PC

MrCarlos

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm looking to build a modest gaming PC. I'm not new to building PCs but I am new to building a gaming PC. I went online and started looking into the components and was overwhelmed with all the choices I had to make. I don't particularly care about 4K gaming so as long as I can build a rig that can do ray tracing and run the latest games at 60fps/1080p. My budget is around $1500 and I'm pretty sure for a video card I want to go with the RTX 2070 Super, but there seems to be a wide range of 2070 Supers going from $499-$999. Do I even want an M2 drive instead of an SSD? Which M2? Which SSD? Cooling? Power supply? CASE?! HELP!

sombre

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#3  Edited By Justin258

$1500 isn't a modest gaming machine.

But yes, for that price range you should have a M.2 drive, preferably one that's NVMe (M.2 is a form factor, NVMe is how it communicates). Storage access speeds have been a focus of Sony's and Microsoft's new consoles, which means the PC versions are almost certainly going to expect much faster access speeds. Those of you still on mechanical drives, I'd strongly suggest setting some money aside for one of these storage devices. While we're on the subject, if you're building a new PC, just avoid mechanical drives altogether at this point. Those should be reserved for mass storage speeds that don't need fast access (example: backup, your music and video collections, pictures, documents, etc.)

I also would lean towards a Ryzen 7 CPU.