If you love TEAM FORTRESS, please help me out...

• 57 results
jellyelbows

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By jellyelbows

Hey there,

I'm currently in my final year studying Graphic Design, and to complete out degree we have to write a dissertation on a topic of our choice.

I chose "Virtual Consumerism within video games", and I basically want to discover whether the reasons for purchasing virtual items is the same as why we buy real items, and whether player immersion has any effect on this.

The games I have chosen to analyse are Habbo Hotel and Team Fortress. I have a questionnaire that will help me greatly in writing my essay, and I was hoping that all you fans of Team Fortress could spare a few minutes to answer it. It doesn't take long and it is completely anonymous.

Also, if anyone has any general views on this topic, I would massively appreciate it if you could comment here and I can see what YOUR views are, not just mine.

This is not spam- I am in no way shedding virtual consumerism in bad light (it is a non-biased debate), and the essay will only be viewed by myself and two tutors (unless anybody is interested and wants to read it when it's done!)

Here is the link, please pass it on to all you know who play TF2 : http://app.fluidsurveys.com/surveys/jen-w/virtual-consumerism-within-team-fortress-2/

Thank you so much for your time,

Jen

Beaudacious

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Beaudacious

@jellyelbows:

I think your thesis question needs to be reworked " discover whether the reasons for purchasing virtual items is the same as why we buy real items", well due to desire for said good/service.

I'd ask something more along the lines of:

" What are the the psychological reasons preventing some individuals to purchase virtual goods/services? "

" What are the perceived discrepancies between a virtual good/services, and a that of a traditional good/service?"