Is the D-Pad + Button combo design conceptually flawless?

Avatar image for deactivated-5a995178e28eb
deactivated-5a995178e28eb

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

No Caption Provided

Directional pad. Buttons. Does there exist a superior paradigm?

The new hardware generation is here, and we are using the same controller concept that has remained in use since I started playing video games as a kid.

The key to this whole question is what kind of interface do you really need to propel a character or camera view through space? Is there a better method than D-Pad Right?

Today the Directional Pad has been relegated to another set of buttons. Usually used for quick spells, items, grenades, weapon swap, etc.

Although we now use an analog thumb stick as standard, it is still a Directional Pad with more directions.

PROPOSAL!

The D-Pad is eternal. It will never die. We will always demand some form of physical interface with a directional pad to indicate movement though 3D space. There is no better conceptual form than the D-Pad.

No Caption Provided

It is a symbolic representation of the 2 dimensional plane, as is the analog stick. This is fundamental to the origin of video games as 2 dimensional representation was the original method of drawing graphics in real time.

With 3D spatial game worlds, the analog stick filled in the needed extra directions but it still represents a 2 dimensional plane.

There is no way to make a device interface that is a representation of 3D space. Not a tactile interface that you can hold. No, a sphere wouldn't do it nor would wand. Notice the Move controller had a little D-Pad accessory which was also a total piece of shit and was utilized in zero games.