Localization Team

Aelric

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Aelric

So, I've applied at a game company that specializes in imports from Asia that I won't name right now for a position as a localization team member, basically taking the rough translated Japanese, Korean and Chinese and turning into understandable English, specifically funny or dramatic English. I worked as a teacher in South Korea for two years and in Thailand for another two, so my experience is almost directly relevant to the job itself, as I used to correct Korean students broken English into understandable, grammatically correct sentences. I had the interview last week and it went really well. In the interview, I mostly was able to turn the conversation casual and even talk to the folks about things like Persona 4's localization job. Everything went fantastically. there was a written test component too, which I think I did alright on, though it's the weak link in the interview compared to the rest.

So they told me I'd hear from them after Thanksgiving weekend. That means tomorrow-ish. I don't know why I'm posting this, other than maybe to express my nervousness to guys that understand that a games industry job would be exciting to get. Please, everyone who reads this, point your best wishes beams at San Jose for me. I don't believe in the positive thinking crap, but it couldn't hurt.

Avatar image for chadmasterflash
ChadMasterFlash

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#2  Edited By ChadMasterFlash

Good luck!

Phatmac

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 18

User Lists: 12

#3  Edited By Phatmac

Good luck?

zoozilla

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 4

#4  Edited By zoozilla

That sounds awesome. Good luck, duder.

Maybe some of your work will come up in a GB Quick Look someday!

Sooty

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 3

#5  Edited By Sooty