Looking Back At Crysis Almost 12 Years Later

fauxical

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By fauxical

Back in 2007 I was a freshman in college and one game tormented me because I knew I couldn't play it because at the time the only computer I had was a 2006 Macbook Pro and there was no way in hell this game was coming to the 360 or PS3. When I did actually build a decent rig in late 2008 I discovered it was not only good in the looks department but the gameplay was actually really good and really clever.

Reason it really brought me to attention was not just me replaying it but me thinking what PC game played a major factor in you upgrading your hardware? Also, I guess remembering this great game and maybe potential sequels (the third one didn't do well if I remember right).

NTM

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By NTM

Yeah, that's crazy, although I first played Crysis in 2009. I was a senior in high school when the game came out. I bought it on release, but it wasn't until 2009 and a new computer that I could finally play it. I love the first Crysis; it's in my top five shooters of all time for sure. The 360 version was okay by comparison, but it doesn't quite stack up to the PC version. I say I got to play it because of a new PC, but honestly, there was no chance that I got to play it with max settings, let alone high or medium. To get a frame rate of around 45 fps, I had to set everything to low. I still loved it. I am not someone that upgrades PC's, so I've never done that, and I've never played Crysis at max settings with a good frame rate, but it's definitely beautiful. I doubt we'll see a Crysis 4, and I kind of doubt we'll see some sort of remake. Crytek doesn't seem focused on it anymore.