Minecraft Questions

dreek

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm a relative novice to Minecraft, but between the weekly streams and playing though Dungeons on games pass, I've had a hankering to play with my friends, but I have some questions. Are they Giant Bomb crew playing Java or Bedrock? Is there a recommendation to which you would play? How did Jan have that no clip camera in that one stream? Any mods you would recommend? Is there any mini games or unique modes that are fun to play with 3-6 people?

mellotronrules

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

short version- if you want mods or more access to 'what's under the hood,' go with java.

if you want cross-platform play, go with bedrock.

but aside from that- just go where you think most of your friends will go. functionally they're the same game.

longer answer here.

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

Are they Giant Bomb crew playing Java or Bedrock?

I believe they're playing Java

Is there a recommendation to which you would play?

To start with? Either. Updated to the latest version, they're mostly the same game. Mostly. The Bedrock version, sometimes called the C++ version, doesn't use Redstone in quite the same way as the Java version. My limited understanding is that Redstone in Java doesn't behave in the originally intended manner, but the community has exploited this unintended behavior and it was always left alone in the Java version.

The Bedrock version can be played cross-platform, with Xbox One and Switch players. If you're interested in playing with friends who are on consoles, then the Bedrock edition is a good way to go. On PC, the Bedrock version has controller support, whereas the Java version does not, so if you're a controller-on-PC guy then Bedrock is a better way to go.