Most Creative Games of 2019 - Which Should I Check Out?

jeremyf

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 6

Hey duders,

At this point in the year I'm pretty much done with the big releases. That said, I've been trying to check out some of the more creative releases of 2019. Stuff that has an interesting gameplay hook, presentation, or style. Some that I would recommend are Pikuniku, Ape Out, and Anodyne 2. My hit list for the next two months is Control and Outer Wilds, and maybe Hypnospace Outlaw. What are some artistically interesting games you've enjoyed in 2019?

(P.S. - I'm not really interested in Death Stranding. We don't need to argue in this thread. :P)

Pezen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I recently started playing Eastshade, it was released on PC quite a while ago if I recall correctly but is now on at least PS4 (no idea if it’s on Xbox as well). It has been a surreal experience that I would definitely suggest trying if you have not already. If someone doesn’t know what it is, it’s basically a first person RPG streamlined to basics without combat (or maybe a more intricate walking simulator with dialogue and quests) and instead you walk around and do paintings of things and solve the occassional puzzle (which are generally either story/riddle or painting related, or just a bonus). Story wise it feels like someone sat down and said ”let’s make every story rooted in empathy”. It feels weird, I am still waiting to get a sword and kill rats. But instead I help someone plan a date, painted a sunset and helped solve a misunderstanding. It’s all just weirdly wholesome.

The best comparison I can think of is playing Gone Home and feeling like it was going to turn into a horror game in regards to what the game looks like vs what it ends up being.

liquiddragon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 14