The 1188 #2 - Aer: Memories of Old

Vorsh

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By Vorsh

There are 1188 items in my GOG Galaxy list of purchased games. I've played a small minority of them. Lately I've decided to challenge myself to work through this list alphabetically, from A to Z, spending at least an hour on each game in the list, until the list runs out, or I run out of enthusiasm.

Lately I've spent some time playing...

Aer: Memories of Old (Daedelic Entertainment, 2017)

I started playing Anthem recently. At $16.99 on the PSN it finally descended to a price point low enough for me to decide it was a purchase that was essentially without risk, especially with rumours circulating that Bioware is going to attempt to make good on some of the game’s promise with Anthem 2.0 in 2020. And having played a bit in co-op with a friend, it’s easy to see both why the game seemed to have promise and why the game doesn’t work: it weds an immediately compelling premise (fly around like Iron Man!) to some uninteresting lore (Scar! Anthem of Creation! Ciphers!), and then shoots itself in the foot by preventing you from fully indulging the compelling premise (walk around like Iron Man, because we are not going to let you fly right now!).

If I’m currently waiting on Anthem 2.0, I think I just visited Anthem 0.5 in Daedelic Entertainment’s Aer: Memories of Old. For the sake of full disclosure, I didn’t finish Aer, even though it apparently clocks out at about three hours. Instead, I gave up on it what turned out to be precisely the one hour mark, after missing a jump.

Missing a jump…in a game where my character can fly.