#1 Edited by section09 (308 posts) -

At their press conference over this past weekend Ubisoft announced they were partnering with Joseph Gorden Levitt's website Hitrecord to crowdsource assets and content for their upcoming game Beyond Good and Evil 2. Hitrecord is ostensibly a website that crowdsources creative work for various projects.

I am a designer. I've been working professionally as a designer for nearly 7 years. That amount of experience pales in comparison to some others but I like to believe I am pretty well versed in it at this point.

In the design / creative / anything business, there is a concept called speculative work or spec work. The hard definition of spec work is:

...any kind of creative work, either partial or completed, submitted by designers to prospective clients before designers secure both their work and equitable fees. (nospec.com)

Essentially, it's when the worker submits work with no guarantee of payment. A lot of times you will see people promising payment later, or sometimes even promising the nebulous concept of "exposure" in lieu of actual money. Make no mistake, what Hitrecord and Ubisoft are doing is the very definition of spec work.

I have seen several if not many people around the internet who are either uninformed about what it is and why it is harmful, or outright hostile to the idea that the concept of spec work is a force for bad, especially when a company as large and visible as Ubisoft engages in it. I want to set the record straight for anyone who falls into either of those categories.

Spec work under all circumstances is harmful and exploitative to the creator and undermines the entire profession.

This isn't my opinion, this is a fact. But don't take my word for it, how about the...

American Institute of Graphic Design. (AIGA)

AIGA Position on Spec Work

Some clients may see this as a way to get free work; it also diminishes the true economic value of the contribution designers make toward client’s objectives.