Who wants to help me build a PC?

User_Undefined

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

My birthday's coming up and I've decided to stop fighting with my 2009/10 abacus of a laptop and build a gaming computer. When I can't even play Gone Home because the framerate is too bad, something needs to change. The thing is, I've never built a PC before, so I don't know that much about it (like the difference between video cards other than bigger numbers are better and more expensive). I found pcpartpicker.com, and it seems to work really well, but I would still like some help.

I'd like for the price to be low, but seeing how I've been using the same laptop for five years, I'm also looking for longevity.

Here's what I've "built" for just under $1600.

Any comments or recommendations would be appreciated.

mike

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: -1

User Lists: 6

Have you considered going with an i5 instead of an i7 and putting the extra money into more storage or a step up in GPU?

ShadowSkill11

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

Whatever you buy don't destroy any parts with ESD. It's easy to do and you could spend hours troubleshooting if you don't know what to look for.

alternate

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

I would argue that it is incredibly hard to destroy anything with static, unless you rub the parts up and down your nylon jumper for luck before installing them.

test0r

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#5  Edited By test0r

So, there are a lot of things I would consider wrong with this list.

• Get an i7-4770K instead of a i7-3770K. 4XXX series is the current one. It goes under the name Haswell. For games though, an i5-4670K will be more than enough.
  • That cooler is pretty nice. Nothing much to say about it. You do not need the extra tube of thermal paste though, there is some included with the EVO 212.