Youtube Video Use

thenexus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By thenexus

First off I am a Web Designer & Developer and a fan of Giantbomb so I know both sides of the coin when it comes to using and building websites.

Youtube videos by GB Actually is a bloody fantastic idea!

- The video player these days is good, it even matches the style of GB!

- The implementation of the video into the site has been spot on

- Youtube video will help with SEO (Search Engine stuff) and traffic

- Comments and links from facebook back to the site

- The player seems to work lots better for me, faster loading, can skip better and the issues with the Amazon servers, pausing etc goes away with this.

- Loads of benfits for Giantbomb

There are a few more good reasons and it was a great decision overall and I hope it saves money for the GB team.

Now my issue:

Money is tight for me and I will buck up the cash for paid, I love the site. When I can I will. Paid stuff - Great, help BC make money! Yep. I live in NZ so the cost is a little higher so I will when I can.

HD video stuff is as a paid member - Yep! fine, np.

BUT....

When you have a quick look or a video review ( Uncharted 3 and MW3 as examples) and while I have seen fine 320p Videos on youtube I really am having issues with a number of the videos from GB that are through youtube.

Paid of free a video goes up of a quick look for example you want to look at the game. When I was hearing "this game looks amazing" and when your looking at the video it looks like a PSP game, it just sucks. MW3 video looks CRAP, really does, Jeff looks all pixelated and it looks like old videos from the early days at gamespot.