A girl named Luka...

Wemibelle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 76

User Lists: 11

#1  Edited By Wemibelle

NOTE: I apologize for the terrible quality of the images, but I wanted to have pictures of Luka. I had to take these with my tablet off my TV (since LR is apparently one of the games that doesn't allow you to take in-game screenshots), and this was the best I could do.

A look at Luka before you talk to her.
A look at Luka before you talk to her.

I ended up being pleasantly surprised by Lightning Returns. The previews for it looked strange, almost indecipherable. Everything from the combat to the tone of the story seemed radically changed from the past games in the series. It looked like an entirely different kind of game, one that might not contain what I had liked about the last two games. I bought it with no small amount of trepidation, wondering if I had just wasted my $60.

After I started playing, however, I couldn’t put it down. Few games manage to enthrall me as completely as Lightning Returns did; I couldn’t stop playing until I had consumed all the content it contained. While I greatly enjoyed just about everything about the game, what really impressed me about Lightning Returns was its world. It seemed standard and somewhat boring at first, but a certain side quest made me think about the world in a different way--hell, in a way I have never thought about any game world before.

To help you realize the meaningfulness of this side quest, I first need to give you a bit of information about the world of Lightning Returns. After the events of Final Fantasy XIII-2, an entity named Chaos has began to overtake the world. Anything it touches vanishes into nothingness, never to return for the rest of eternity. Every day, this darkness creeps ever inwards, claiming another town or village in its inexorable march towards annihilation. Eventually--inevitably--Chaos will devour the entire world.

Luka stiffing Lightning yet again.